Toe Up Socks – Square Toe Cast on, Dutch Heel

[Photo to come as sock not yet finished!]

Kureyon Dutch Heel Sock

Yarn: 1 hank of Noro Kureyon yarn in colorway 154 Lot C

Needles: Crappy Pony circular 80cm 4.5mm/US 7

Method:

I cast on 8 stitches and followed Denise’s instructions for a square toe cast on. Increased every other row to 44 stitches. I increased the gusset by 12 stitches (6 stitches each side) to 34 stitches for the sole. Knit st st until about 7.5″ from toe. Then did 8 stitches for the flap. I think the heel looks clumsy, unbalanced. I also don’t like the slip stitch heel turn. The selvege looking line of stitches up the instep is also very ugly. And I got big holes where I joined back to knitting in the round.

Thoughts:

  1. It would have been better to be 12 stiches for the flap. Actually scrap that, I really don’t like this heel. The flap bit bulges at the bottom. The German heel or French heel with the short row turn from Nancy Bush’s Knitting Vintage Socks looks like it would fit better and look neater.
  2. The selvege join to the gusset should be eliminated. Not sure how just yet. Yarnover joins?
  3. The gaps from joining in the round could have been avoided by judicious yarnover joins a la yo short rows, to be prepared 2 rows from the end of the heel bit.
  4. Try a Nancy Bush sock first to see construction!
  5. I liked the square toe cast on. I think though that the Turkish Cast-on (great tutorial from Knitter Deb) is still my favourite.

Leave a Reply

