Draft and String and Tuscany!

I had a bunch of goodies in the post yesterday (that Liberty knit circle is a serious punch to the wallet…all my orders were placed after the wednesday meet up!) – a package from Colinette with some beautiful yarn. Gauguin and Popsicle (although Popsicle doesn’t quite look like the colourway on the site – much more green, sort of more like a tropical parrot colour) in Jitterbug. I also got a cone of cashmere in DK weight – I’m going to knit a swatch and dye it up (the colour is a marled pale pink and white). The other exciting package was from fibrecrafts which had a top whorl spindle, 300 grams each of merino top and blue faced leicester top.

Spindle and merino fleece

I spent some time last night playing with the spindle – I spun some wool then plied it together – i’ll have to try knitty’s handy plying technique, cause holding a centre pull ball and plying the ends together ends up twisting the yarn leading to the ball… all a bit messy. My yarn was a bit thick and thin – ranging between dk weight and aran. I spun a bit more and t looks a bit more even. After washing and hanging and then drying it – it bloomed nicely – all poofy and soft. We’ll see how the next one goes. Meanwhile, am waiting to hear back from Journey Wheel about a tulip wood spindle…. and then I promise, dear, sweet, long suffereing wallet, that I shall let you rest a bit before making you work again!


Not quite gold, but soft and squooshy

My little hank of merino 2 ply!

Here is my (public) statement (I can’t quite make myself say it is an oath…): I shall finish my projects before purchasing more wool (or only purchase more wool when in Canada in July, whichever comes first!):
1) Grasshoppers; and
2) Pomatomus socks; and
3) C4 chunky cardigan OR Flicca cardigan; and
5) spin up 100 g each of merino and blue faced leicester – and dye it!

Okay. That means May, June, July – 2.5 months to finish the above. Grasshoppers – another 2 weeks I am guessing, Pomatomus – 2 weeks, so that’s May gone. Cardigan – 1 month. Spinning & dying – 1 week. Phew. I better get going with all that!

Ah and just back from Italy! A little yarn tour….

Here is the Grasshopper in an ode to the Yarn Harlot – sitting in Arezzo square, having lunch.

The Beatrice Galli yarn shop in Florence.
Thwarted. The Campolmi Filato yarn outlet – CLOSED on weekends!!! Why oh why have you forsaken weekend tourists???
And for the record – knitting needles not allowed on flights from Italy (nor flights from England). The BA World Club check in guy told me it was fine to bring knitting on board, security told me no (pulled out my Knit Pick circulars, and pointed to the needle end and said it was a blade). Sent me back to check in, the guy told me he didn’t know there were needles in my bag (duh, what the hell did he think knitting was? A ball of wool?) and wanted to charge me 90 euros for the pleasure of checking in my knitting bag. Thank god his supervisor said it was ok. So I checked it. and worried the whole way it wouldn’t make it. But lo and behold – here it is, at the other end. I don’t understand the idea that knitting needles are a no no, but hat pins and umbrellas and glasses made of metal (the bit that goes over your ears are long and pointy!) are all ok. Damn them nonknitting security folk.

2 thoughts on “Draft and String and Tuscany!

  1. I’m so glad you decided to go with the spinning! I just finished my first handspun sock…Oh the pride. I’m waiting for a journey spindle too, but in the mean time I have decided to take a trip to wingham wool on Sunday to buy a wheel!!! BE WARNED spinning is as addictive as knitting, so enjoy!

  2. I have just ordered a book about spinning cannot wait to get it. Seriously don’t they realize we are far more dangerous without our knitting then with! Italian yarn shops quite frankly that makes me drool!

Leave a Reply

