More beans, unspilled….

Whoooowheee!! I am having a ball of a time at the moment. I am planning all sorts of secret little things which are slowly coming to fruition. Two parcels came yesterday, one full of squidgy yummy yarn for a secret knitting project, and another full of – not yarn – for one of a few secret Socktopus projects. I used to make teddy bears – the kind where the arms and legs moved and everything was hand sewn on the face – and creating these socktopus projects gives me the same kind of gleeful slightly hysterical pleasure and enjoyment. As a side note, listening to YKnit’s interview with Cat Bordhi, I found that she too started out making teddy bears! More boxes of secret thingies to come over the next few weeks. hee hee. hee hee hee. ;D

Anyways, today another delight came with the local postie – a big box from my BFF in Ohio – Suze!
DSC_0001.JPG

A box full of absolute wonderful yumminess – two packs of Reese’s peanut butter cups – my all time favourite chocolate bar. A book on knitting 2 socks at the same time on circs – perfect as I have tried (and failed) to figure it out on my own, a funky monkey cube, some great little post it notes (with great little sayings like “you make me smile”, “pssst read this”), a photo album of our sock camp shenanigans (thats me on the right and Suze on the left, both of us holding Pig War Martinis), Monkey poo choccies, some stickers, and boy oh boy, the bumper crop of Yarn. Gorgeous gorgeous yarn.

Here’re more photos of the yarn:

DSC_0003.JPG

Hazel Knits (I am in LOVE with this yarn. Beautiful, solid squishy yarn. Saturated like Wollmeise, thick and squidgy like Blue Moon). And then Knitted to A T, sock yarn in happy sunset colours.

DSC_0002.JPG

And some beautiful laceweight in my absolute favourite greens, more Knited to a T BFL, and Claudia handpainted socks (base like Louet Gems). Lovely jubbly! Thank you Suze!!!

A little update on the tomato plant – my little trio of tomatoes are doing well.
DSC_0004.JPG

The big one has turned quite red now. It’s very exciting – it’ll almost be a shame to eat it!

Remember DH went on a charity hike (24 peaks in as many hours?). They managed to finish in 23 hours (excluding sleeping time). It looks pretty steep and misty!
hike

And if you look closely – those little dots of colour are the hikers!!

ants

Their team raised £6000 for cancer research and placed 8th out of 21 teams. Well done!

2 thoughts on “More beans, unspilled….

  1. Whyfor you torture us with hints of secret Socktopus goodness? Whyfor you be so evil and adorable? Whyfor?*weep*

  2. Wow, congratulations to David. Much as I love walking, I think that might have been too much for me…And even I, sock ignoramus that I am, think your socks were very beautiful. Clever Alice.

Leave a Reply

