Socktoshop!

My second official day open, I’ve actually had a few customers and am just thrilled to bits. What is the coolest though is that the customers who have come in have been people I know! Jan, Sue, and a lovely lady who, though I now know by sight, I still don’t know her name! It is so comforting seeing familiar faces when everything is so new and unfamiliar.

So this was the space when we first started out:
DSC_0033.JPG

Not hugely large, but already filled with boxes and boxes of yarn. Nora, Laura, Mel, Diane, my mom, Ali & Deuce helped to get all that stuff from my house, into the van we rented, and out again. The girls helped put together the shelves on the far wall, and the wire cubes too.
DSC_0035.JPG

The next morning, my mom, Diane and me took ourselves to Ikea to get some more furniture. Here’s me getting handy with the electric drill.

DSC_0037.JPG

And me again putting bits into the PAX wardrobe.
DSC_0034.JPG

We got a guy to put the PAX things together – he did both frames, doors and 3 sets of drawers in 35 minutes flat. There is an art to the flatpack!

After alot of huffing and hauling and unpacking, I think we did a pretty good job. Check it out:

Wall’o’yarn
DSC_0066.JPG

And the wall of Dream in Color at the back there!
DSC_0067.JPG

The party was awesome – check out the cupcakes from most deeelish Bittersweet Bakers:
DSC_0044.JPG

Sarah enjoying her Yarn Yarn fibre… gorgeous colours from Natalie (goes without saying! The lady is an artist).
DSC_0048.JPG

Some chatting, cupcake eating, and Justine looking awestruck with her gorgeous yarn (Hazelknits High ocTANG)
DSC_0049.JPG

Deuce was a popular pug – getting a load of loving snuggles from Mr & Mr Easyknits
DSC_0065.JPG

Deuce’s favourite mini-knitter, Emilie
DSC_0059.JPG

and with his knitter ladies:
DSC_0057.JPG

It was a pretty big day for the wee guy, so he also needed a reassuring snuggle with his papa:
DSC_0054.JPG

And this mosaic is from Whereswoolly who came down from Brighton for Diane’s spin open day and for the party. Rock on Woolly!
3004003370_575ea77a38-2

Thank you to everyone who came to the party, and made it so much fun. And a huge shout out to all the fabulous Socktopods and customers out there who have made Socktopus such an amazing experience for me. Thank you from the bottom of my fibre and yarn obsessed heart. (((<3)))

10 thoughts on “Socktoshop!

  1. AAAAAAAAAAAAAH!!!Congratulations! The shop looks amazing. I’m going to try and get down there as soon as I can.I’m sorry I couldn’t come to your party! 😦 I was sickly. :(It looks like you had a great time!

  2. OK socktoshop – does that make me a socktoshopaholic then! Fab day Alice thank you and those cakes were just awesome. Ems had a great time too and Carl even said he would come again for tea and cake.

  3. I’m soooooo happy for you MaliCat! It makes me so sad not to be able to be a part of all the opening excitement, and just everyday! I wish you the best of luck! You will be a HUGE success! I miss you so.Hugs,Love, and Gin Cosmos.

  4. Congratulations on your new shop. Will be on my list next time I come to London (which won’t be for ages probably but it’ll still be on my must visit list).

  5. Bai Tu — The shop looks favvulous (I couldn’t look at the photos from work but what a great space!!!). Say hi to Melin.Love, Gizmo G.

Leave a Reply

