Baby it’s cold out there!

It is cold out there. It was -4 degrees last night. According to the BBC Year in Review, December was the coldest it has been since 1996. It has a long time since I really felt that biting cold on my hands and wished I were wearing something warm on my hands. Brrrrr.

I am a sucker for ‘personality tests’ and so took another this morning – and according to it I am a Porsche 911. I’m ok with that.

I’m a Porsche 911!

You have a classic style, but you’re up-to-date with the latest technology. You’re ambitious, competitive, and you love to win. Performance, precision, and prestige – you’re one of the elite,and you know it.

Take the Which Sports Car Are You? quiz.

Apparently I am also a Talent. I think this test was a bit less exciting. More fun if i was a Lion or a Spider Monkey or something…

I’m a Talent!

You’re a risk-taker, and you follow your passions. You’re determined to take on the world and succeed on your own terms. Whether in the arts, science, engineering, business, or politics, you fearlessly express your own vision of the world. You’re not afraid of a fight, and you’re not afraid to bet your future on your own abilities. If you find a job boring or stifling, you’re already preparing your resume. You believe in doing what you love, and you’re not willing to settle for an ordinary life.

Talent: 62%
Lifer: 28%
Mandarin: 44%

Now only to find some bank account in the sky that will pay me megabucks and I’ll be sorted! Where’s my lotto ticket….

And finally as promised – our new coloured walls:

My favourite – the blue in our room. David chose it and I really love it. It reminds me of the Maldives and the blue of the ocean there. I like how it works with our dark brown bed.
Copy of Christmas 08 and Stash006

And the hot chocolate/ovaltine type mocha colour of the spare room. It’s called Muddy Puddle. Very warm and cozy.
Copy of Christmas 08 and Stash010

Now to replace our stinky radiators with antique fireplace mantels…..

Finally on the knitting front – these are my current loves:
Copy of Christmas 08 and Stash005

Show off stranded socks, having seen Lucy knitting them up I have been itching to knit these. When I got Sheepaint’s exclusive Socktopussy colourway in I thought it would be just perfect – and it is. Gorgeous!!!

Speaking of WIPs….in an effort to be more organised about my knitting, I have photographed my stash (well, all that stash I will admit to owning), and started the long boring process of uploading it to Ravelry. I also finally listed all my WIPs, and faced with the reality of the long crazy list…I had to make a second new year’s resolution: one out one in – ie I must finish a current WIP before I can start a new one. And because I have a hell of a lot of WIPs, I’ve sorted them in 5 active, the rest dormant, then one in when an active is FO’d.

Of the 5 active spots these can be a mix of Glass of Wine projects (ie sociable knitting – not badly affected by having a glass of wine (or two) with a friend), NB projects (ie sociable but No Booze) and max 1 Solitary Confinement project (ie cannot speak to others or be spoken to while knitting)

Current Active:
1. Leyburn KAL Sock (first sock otn) – target finish date Feb.
2. FIL Shurt’agal (turned the heel…. just 11 inches of foot to go….)- target finish date middle feb
3. Malabrigo Habitat (1/4 left otn) – target finish date Friday 17 Jan
4. Cashmere Anemoi Mitten (otn, 1/2 of first left) – target finish date 14 Feb
5. Annabelle’s Tulip (icord edging left to do) – target finish date Friday 9 Jan

Next in line:
GOW projects
Socktopussy Socks (first sock otn, turned the heel, 1/4 left to do)
David’s Hopscotch Socks (first sock otn, 1/2 left)
Tree hugger spring forward (otn, 3/4 left)
Kaw Kaw Monkey (1 sock)
Mushroom Monkey (1 sock)
Cedar Creek (1 sock)
OWK Shurt’agal (3/4 left, but I took the needles out to do the Leyburn KAL)

NB projects
Kensington Gardens CP Hoodie (1/2 left)
Morning Surf Single Spun (otn, 1/2 left)
Mom’s Cashmere Scarf (3/4 left otn)
Shifting Sands Petal Shower Scarf (1/2 left otn)
Spring Tickle Shrug (1/3 left otn)
Yukon Swallowtail (otn, 1/2 left)
Missoniesque Scarf (otn)

Gah – I am aiming to get the last of them off the needles by mid June. All socks have to be done by end Feb as I will start getting my RSC club socks and I know I’ll want to be knitting those too…. so wish me luck and lots of knitting mojo…

6 thoughts on “Baby it’s cold out there!

  1. I see a Sookie book! Are you reading that one now?That’s a lot of projects! I’m sending you some good knitting vibes right now. It’s the least I could do, since you made me feel so much better about my WIP count 🙂

  2. Yessirree! It is indeed Sookie! Though am now waiting for Dead and Gone to come out… as read the rest of the series as soon as I got home! I think it took me about a week or two to finish them all……

Leave a Reply

