Hoppy Easter

Edited to add: I am walking the Race for Life this year with the iKnit team of fabulous knitters. The fundraising is for Cancer Research UK. It is so easy to donate. Try pledging a week of your coffee change.  Or your Friday night beer money, your afternoon chocolate allowance.  Think of all the things that you enjoy and pledge one of those to Cancer Research.  One yoga class.  One pedicure. A bikini wax.  That bottle of wine.  The latest paperback.  A skein of yarn.  Whatever it is you indulge in, that makes you feel good – take one week of that and pledge to Cancer Research.  Every little helps. Every little brings us closer to never having to watch a loved one suffer through the pain and heartache of the disease, be so weak as to not even be able to swallow medication, so tired that speaking is beyond them, in so much pain from cancer eating their insides that the pain, nausea and black scorch of radiation burns are preferable. Every little helps. Please please donate.

*****************************
You know that feeling, like you’re always running to catch up, and always just that much behind? Being the person who does the books, places the orders and tracks them, traces the incoming shipments and chases up customs payments, checks inventory, receives parcels and unpacks them, photographs them and then uploads same to website, prices them, checks prices against the market, tidies the shop and cleans the floors, keeps the tea drawer stocked up, keeps up with what’s happening in the knitworld, checks out the new designs, writes the newsletters, organises events, manages logistics, pays the rent, checks the bills, thinks up display and storage, mans the shop, tests new yarns, yedda yedda yedda, I feel like it all the time. I love many bits of what I do, the people bits and the yarn bits especially. I’m really not so into the admin bits, particularly as they cut seriously into my knitting time, but as these are generally the nuts and bolts that keep the rest of it together they are pretty important and I just have to suck it up and do them too. But I do get incredibly annoyed when people give me that ahhh, ‘you’re your own boss’ look and assume I do nothing but sit on my butt and knit (which I do alot of too but that isn’t the point!).

Before I started Socktopus I didn’t really appreciate the amount of work people put into small businesses. But man, I have a huge HUGE respect for those people now – people who worked hard and built something for themselves. They do everything – from being the tea lady to the office gopher to the person who cleans the floors, as well as being buyer, accounts payable, PR, marketing, and front of house. I can understand now how some people sometimes can’t hack it and do a zombie (rumours of fake deaths to escape obligations seem to abound in the knitosphere), or become grumpy-stiltskins. I don’t agree with this kind of head in the sand approach to problem solving, but I can certainly empathise.

Anyways what started all this navel gazing? Hmmm.

Moving quickly away from an impending rant (sorry I get like this from time to time), I had a lovely 4 day Easter break. We got some things done around the house, went to Romain’s for dinner on Friday night, meeting yet more fascinating people (Matilde who hand paints hand made chocolate! Must visit Paris to try them out..), Saturday we had a BBQ at home, with corn on the cob, lamb kofte, grilled peppers and baked potatos with sour cream and chives. Mmm haven’t had that in yonks. I did manage to explode a potato though – apparently they need to be pierced? It was rather exciting…. Sunday we had a delicious Sunday lunch chez the Howes. Carrots with cumin and orange and butternut squash with chilli cloves and cinnamon – totally delicous! and of course roast and yorkshire pudding and all the trimmings. And dessert! Chocolate mousse and cheesecake. Needless to say David and I totally skipped dinner we were so full. Monday David & I caught Let the Right One In – another vampire movie with Kaurismaki overtones (much staring at each other without dialogue). Very sweet in a gruesome kind of way.

I have photos of classes to share, but they are on my main computer which is suffering a set back… some cleaning up today seemed to help the startup disk function properly, but there are still a few blips. I think I can iron them out tomorrow. Fingers crossed!

4 thoughts on “Hoppy Easter

  1. Bai Tu — you also need to pierce eggplants before baking. My grandmother quickly learned that lesson when an exploding eggplant blew the oven door open and decorated her kitchen! Glad you had a break and I’ll send in a pledge for the walk.

    Love, Gizmo

  2. You work damn hard and for one I appreciate it. I dunno what I’d do without you and socktoshop! Ask those who give that look what they do all day! I bet it’s mostly sitting on their butt doing sod all!!

  3. I’ve only been to the shop a couple of times but look at site A LOT and Socktopus is EASILY my favourite yarn store. It’s so obvious what a lot of care, work and thought go into it. Socktopus is one of the things that cheer up some very gloomy days. I know that your efforts are very much appreciated.

Leave a Reply

