Owls!

Ahh apologies for my grumpy post…i was just in one of those moods. Thankfully the sunshine has vaporised the mini-grump. Also my FO Owls has cheered me up to no end.

This was rather an exciting knit as I knit it in the round, and cut it up the middle! My first steeking project.

DSC_0034

You see the column between the owls? That is where I cut.

First I crocheted a line on either side of the steek.
DSC_0038

DSC_0039

Then it was time to cut.

Out came the scissors and away I went. Pretty liberating feeling, cutting through those stitches.
DSC_0048

Then I picked up for the band, knit the band, then added the collar. Now to find the perfect wee button eyes!

DSC_0051

DSC_0058

DSC_0053

16 thoughts on “Owls!

  1. Alice! That is really lovely, I made my Grandson a tank top with those owls on and loved the process. Steeking looks interesting and very scary, I am totally impressed!

  2. Yay for owls! I’m so impressed with the steeking. Planning a baby-jumper for a friend soon, and think I might try it out on that. But I am a chicken.

  3. Love it!! I so want to knit one, I have a bit of an owl fetish thing going on thanks to all the cool Owl stationary at PaperChase!!!

  4. Your sweater looks great Alice! Wasn’t it fun to cut it! Your buttonband looks so nice and neat! WooHOO!
    Yesterday was the first I had seen yours. So funny that we chose similar colors hee hee!
    Miss you!

  5. Quite inspirational Alice!! Another knitting technique on my ‘to-do-list’. When I get round to it, now I know where to come to for help. Clever you and thanks for sharing.

  6. That looks great, and you make steeking look completely non-threatening. I haven’t tried it yet; it’s still on the to-do list. But not yet. A shawl is calling my name!

  7. Love the cardi and your steeking is brilliant. I used to knit lots of steeked sweaters as a teen but got my Mum to do all the cutting etc. Not brave enough to try it now.

Leave a Reply

