Snape Victorious

Went to see HBP last night. Fun movie, though they cut out the bit about the potions book and the wig/bust/tiara. I guess they’ll just gloss over it in the final film(s). Was a fun ride, though remain unconvinced by Michael Gambon’s Dumbledore – he harbours traces of Layer Cake, besides which his portrayal of Dumbledore lacks that good humoured warmth and twinkle that Dumbledore ought to have. Oh Richard Harris, what hard shoes you left to fill. Anyways, it was suitably amusing and I loved Snape. So funny and hammy. He must crack up trying to speak his lines without moving his lips or indeed any muscles in his face.

Am enjoying my running journey – getting up there with my mileage, and mighty pleased with my results. Ran just over 9Km this morning and felt great. 10k soon and then I’ll start with speed training and intervals – strangely excited about that! Looking forward to running swifter farther and faster! Yippee! On my birthday, I signed up to the Hampton Court Palace 10K run with Anna my running buddy. I am aiming to run it in under an hour. I want to do it in 45 minutes but I think that may be a too ambitious for now. Anyways if you fancy donating to Cancer Research, here is the linky.

Since I last posted, I had my birthday. Thanks to all the cards and birthday wishes! ūüôā I wasn’t sure about having a party or celebrating as I was in a bit of a sombre mood, but David decided to ignore me and threw me a lovely birthday dinner with my oldest and dearest friends in London. ¬†Arianna made me the most decadent and delicious chocolate mousse cake….

IMG_0047

It got a little too rowdy for my building – someone complained three times (twice before 11pm apparently) and security finally had to come up. I think they were a bit disappointed when they arrived to find no crazy party but me, DH, my friends Ed & Alison, and their sleeping 8 month old baby Annabelle. Must of been Annabelle’s crazy partying that got our neighbour’s knicker’s in a twist. Apparently the complaint was that there were ‘plate noises, and laughter’. My my. At least I know that we have neighbours! I wasn’t so sure before. Anyways, it was a really nice night. Low key with loved ones. Perfect!

For my birthday the only thing I wanted was a new camera. I ruined my old one by dropping it in France, and wanted a small portable powerful thing. So my dear friends clubbed together and got me this:
415ikzeikcl_sl500_aa280_

It is amazing -size of a credit card, it handles light and dark situations perfectly, and has the most amazing macro!  Thanks B for the recommendation! Check this out.

IMG_0068
I took the flower photo at Cowley Manor – DH’s bday pressie to me. ¬†It was the perfect mini-break. A chance meeting with Barb, Paul and the wee goddaughter who were there to celebrate B’s promotion. ¬†Well done B! Lunch with friends, followed by pampering and hanging out in the beautiful pool and spa. DH and I and puggy went on long walks in the grounds, and puggy loved it. ¬†I caught Deuce doing a classic pugtona – these crazy tucked bum runs when he is super happy and having fun. Here he is trying to eat some crap on the ground, and going into gleeful pugtona’s when he grabs a mouthful. Watch his funny tail unfurl!

We’ve had some excitement at the shop too – the Knitting Goddess – dear Joy below – came for a trunk show on Sunday the 12th. ¬†Check out that yarn!

IMG_0176 IMG_0170

Jen with Woolly popped up to say hi.

IMG_0178

This week we have more lovely yarn coming from Nimu on Sunday 26 July, and of course the last MSF Bingo of the summer on Friday 24. Tickets are up on the website, so do come along!!

I’ve also been having fun designing a lace shawl and decided to host a mystery knit along on Twitter using the pattern. If you want to join check it out here. ¬†You need about 360m of sock weight yarn. It makes a lovely lacey shawl (if I do say so myself!). ¬†Clues are every Monday night at 10pm GMT – and there are 3 weeks of clues. Here’s a little tantalising peek:

IMG_0118

Some come on over to Twitter, and join the fun!

6 thoughts on “Snape Victorious

  1. couldn’t agree with you more about Richard Harris. MG leaves a creepy feeling. can’t wait to see HP6! Good luck with your training. x

  2. Belated happy birthday.

    When Lottie runs like that we call it ‘pigbatting’. Deuce looks such a sweetie. Lottie now has a puppy playmate called Fergus – life is a little manic.

  3. Hey Alice, Got your thank-you booklet today. So sweet! I am glad the prezzie was just what you wanted and will help preserve all those great memories (and people – no more birds!) for future. xo

  4. Pingback: Aurantium Shawl Pattern — All things Socktopus!

Leave a Reply

