Personal Footprints – on its way!

Just got the email to say Cat Bordhi’s new fabby book ‘Personal Footprints’ is winging its way across the Atlantic to us.  We’ll have them at Stash in a week’s time! Meanwhile you can preorder your copy online here.  Michelle you lucky thing – I can’t wait to get my hands on it.  From my experiments Cat’s new architecture looks to be the best fitting sock ever.

I can’t believe it’s been almost a week since I’ve blogged. I know I say that alot, but I’m always truly surprised at how quickly the days flow through my fingers.  And with my sieve like memory it makes it hard to recreate the days…however I can say that a highlight was Sunday – a movie outing with my goddaughter.  One of the reasons for the new world order was to be able to take the time during day light hours to spend time with my charming GD.  We went to see Cloudy with a chance of meatballs, which was very enjoyable. Sophia offered to hold our hands in case we were frightened during the scary bits.  She announced that she loved me and her mom best in the world, and that she loved everyone she knew, but not everyone she didn’t know. I thought that was a sensible approach.  We rounded off the afternoon with a visit to Ottolenghi, where we demolished the worlds best caramel macadamia nut cheesecake.  Divine. Mmmmm.

So this week I had breakfast with Veronica Van of Dream in Color Yarn. She is over here volunteering for the World Garden at Lullingstone Castle.  Tom Hart Dyke, the man behind the garden, has a fascinating story – he was kidnapped while searching out seeds and plants and held prisoner for 9 months.  He was released without explanation (after a 3 million dollar ransom request), and wrote a book with his travelling companion called Cloud Garden. It’s next on my reading list. Back to yarn – Veronica brought over some of her amazing Knitosophy yarn… I’ll post piccies later. The yarn is Smooshy base, but the colours are Veronica’s creation, completely random, utterly gorgeous. A surprise in every skein. We’re getting some in to Stash for hopefully November. Yay!

Saturday DH and I did what we haven’t been able to in ages – sort out the house! Another reason for the new world order! Day light hours and time to tidy up. We got a new sofa recently and so have a living room that is now cosy and a nice place to cuddle up.  😀 Next room to tackle is the spare room.

Thursday night was the first knit night at Stash – lovely!  One of my absolute favourite bits about Socktopus was the knit nights. The long hours, working weekends, working every day, that sort of sucked. But the knit nights were always the highlight of my week. And so they continue to be.  Socktopus o’Clock – long may you last.

And phew, I’m getting close to finishing my update – Monday was a Yarn Tasting at Stash, with their Yarn of the Month Mulberry Dyer.  I learned all about natural dyes, Inditin (I think that is how it is spelled) and the origin of the expression ‘taking the piss’. Lovely lovely dyers, very knowledgeable. I loved the alpaca/silk lace and the 100% alpaca sock yarn.

And today – more drama with Deuce. He’s been sniffling and snuffling more than usual, and had a running nose over the weekend. We thought he’d gotten better, but this morning he was trembling whenever he inhaled.  I took him straight to the vet, and it turns out he has something stuck up his nose, and has a mild infection. Some antibiotics were prescribed, and the hope is that it will all clear by the weekend. Hopefully whatever is lodged in his wee nostril will get sneezed out.  If not, the vet will have to go in and extract it. Sigh.  My poor little monkey.  I guess when your whole face gets smooshed into the ground when you sniff things, bits are bound to get snuffled up there.

Oh and finally, the October Sock Club sock went out last week. Really love this one, and hope everyone does too! 😀

2 thoughts on “Personal Footprints – on its way!

  1. Next room to tackle is the spare room: isn’t this the yarn room? What will you do?

    Also, pefect opportunity to get the stash photographed and up on Ravelry…. 😉

  2. Pingback: Postal Windfall (RSC Spoilers!) — Adventures of Socktopus

Leave a Reply

