Float Like a Butterfly, Sting Like a Bee

David and I went to a boxercise class at the gym last night.  I used to love boxercise classes (a long long time ago when I was much fitter!) so we were really looking forward to the evening.  We weren’t disappointed!  I was pretty nervous having D as my partner – he’s a little clumsy sometimes and I could just see him missing my glove and smashing in my nose.  He came close a few times I have to say.  He throws a mean punch and when he used force you could feel it. Ouch!  But other than the close calls, it was great throwing punches.  We didn’t do any hooks, just uppercuts and straight punches.  Also sit ups which I hate and haven’t done in years.

I’m aiming to finish a knitting project every month since I have altogether way too many WIPs that I want to have finished tout de suite! This month I dug out my Aeolian shawl (here is the original pattern) which has been sadly neglected, 15 rows from finishing, since last summer.  The thing with this kind of shawl is it starts at the top edge in the middle, with each row growing progressively longer.   Here’s a great diagram I found with a photo tutorial to illustrate what I mean.

Triangular Shawl Construction
by Emily Wessel

Each row increases in length and by the time you get to the edge, there are a heck of alot of stitches to knit.  I just got a bit fed up working through the stitches…. but strangely enough once I picked it up again the rows weren’t too bad.  I now have 8 rows left… so well on my way to my January FO.

5 thoughts on “Float Like a Butterfly, Sting Like a Bee

  1. Oh my gosh, STILL 8 rows left?

    hahaha, just teasing you! You’re doing great on it and it looks totally awesome!

  2. 8 rows left, you’ll finish that in no time – but then ther’s the bind-off… (only kidding, it’s not that bad)

  3. Thank you so much Alice for everything. I received my shiny silver parcel today and it was just gorgeous, as gorgeous as the pictures on the spoiler thread showed. And the recipe ! Wow, was it from the book you linked to on another post ? If so, I must confess that I ordered -hem !- several of those on Amazon ! I can’t wait to start cooking. And thanks to you, I will have some kind of a preview…
    Actually, I made it to the Loopy Ewe Sock Club as well. It’s my second sock club ever -the first was yours, of course – and I am all excited !
    And then, I finished my own Aeolian last December, in an Old Maiden Aunt lace yarn that was to die for… and who introduced me to it ? Guess that was you, when you showed the pictures of the trunk show she held at your shop.
    See, I think that some chinese astrologue would love to know all this and draw charts and do everyhting chinese astrologues do ;0)
    BTW, I really loved the way the pattern unfolds itself in a arithmetical way, it really makes “sense”.

    On a different subject, did you read the Feng Shui detective serie, by Nury Vittachi ? If so, did you like them as much as I did ? if not, you must read them : more than once, I spilled my tea laughingl!

  4. I love that shawl, it’s soo pretty. I’m working my way up to make it though, it looks immense, especially with the blocking of those edges! And I’m such a lazy finisher!

Leave a Reply

