On top of Spaghetti

On top of spaghetti,
All covered with cheese,
I lost my poor meatball,
When somebody sneezed.

It rolled off the table,
And on to the floor,
And then my poor meatball,
Rolled out of the door.

It rolled in the garden,
And under a bush,
And then my poor meatball,
Was nothing but mush.

The mush was as tasty
As tasty could be,
And then the next summer,
It grew into a tree.

The tree was all covered,
All covered with moss,
And on it grew meatballs,
And tomato sauce.

So if you eat spaghetti,
All covered with cheese,
Hold on to your meatball,
Whenever you sneeze.

One of the bonuses of my new world order is that I’m finally rediscovering my love for cooking.  I used to love cooking for the sheer enjoyment of it, but my mojo disappeared for a long time – about 7 years I’d say!  Last year Alicja gave me a copy of Barefoot Contessa’s cookbook and since the new year D and I have been trying out different recipes in it. I’m slowing getting the cooking bug again, yay! 

So far we’ve tried the shrimp and lemon linguini (nearly my favourite – River Cafe’s crab linguini is my hands down favourite – I love lemon on pasta), and the spaghetti with meatballs.  For Italian, Marcella Hazan is my touchstone so I was intrigued to try Ina Garten’s tomato sauce with meatballs.  Verdict:  I love it! Her recipe is simple in its elegance.  In carbonara we deglaze the pan with white wine after frying the bacon and garlic – it gives the sauce a nice depth.  I never thought to do the same with tomato sauce – it was like an epiphany!  We made the meatballs, browned them and removed from pan, then sauteed the onions and garlic with the brown bits left from the meatballs, and finally deglazed the pan with red wine before adding tomatoes etc and simmering for half an hour.  Yummy!  The meatballs were made with breadcrumbs and then water added to keep the meatballs moist. It worked well, but next time I’ll try it using Marcella’s method – soaking breadcrumbs with milk then adding to the beef/pork mixture. The lactic acid in the milk really makes the meat sweeter/rounder tasting. I figure if it works great in ragu so the milk should work well with the meatballs.

If you haven’t already come across the Sleep Talkin’ Man, go check out his blog. I laughed so hard I almost peed myself. Beware – not for innocent ears. 

2 thoughts on “On top of Spaghetti

  1. Pingback: Postal Windfall (RSC Spoilers!) — Adventures of Socktopus

  2. Alice, I can still taste you carbonara, un vrai delice comme on dit en francais. My favourite meatball recipe is by Alice Waters of chez Panisse in Berkeley – she uses milk to tenderise the meat and pecorino or Parmesan. You can also add some roasted pinenuts for a bit of texture. Yum. X

Leave a Reply

