Waffle-icious & Name that Skein Contest

Last night you’ll recall I made some yeasted waffle batter. This  morning I got up and went on to part II of the waffle making odyssey.  J- glad you mentioned about the egg whites, I was dubious, but in the end I agree – very much worth it!

I had to look up some videos on how to fold in the whipped eggs, since I usually go at it too hard and lose all the air.  I think I managed it quite well, if i do say so myself!

The batter was really thick – you can see how the cup just stands straight up in it.

When the waffle iron was ready, I spooned just under half a cup of batter into each of the four compartments, worried that it might overspill. I needn’t have worried – half a cup would have been just right and the batter is so thick it can’t really spill out.

They smelled amazing – at first like baking bread, and then caramelly and toasty.  They came out nice and crisp on the outside, and the crumb was tender and airy. I have to admit the waffle was a little too buttery for my taste…the 3/4 butter resulted in a very rich waffle which would work well as a dessert with whipped cream and strawberries.  But for breakfast I prefer something a little less rich.

DH had to of course have some for his breakfast, and he announced that these were the best I’d made so far. He loves butter.

These were my best effort so far. There are a few tweaks I would make –  I think the one and a half stick of butter was a little overkill.  Just one stick of butter (1/2 cup) would do;  I only used 1.5 tablespoons of sugar as I was afraid it would be too sweet; it wasn’t at all, so I will try the recommended 2 tbsps.

Compared to the Marion Cunningham yeasted waffle batter, which was on the thin side (it has a full cup more liquid in the batter), I really like this one. It was easy to make, the batter was a scoop and dump jobbie rather than a pouring one.  On its own the waffle was a bit salty, but married with maple syrup? Heaven!

Another difference – the one I used today had no baking soda – which is there to react with buttermilk and give the waffle lift.  With yeast there is no need – it’s all airy and lifty already.

Today’s waffle comes from Kate Habershon’s Pancakes and Waffles recipe book (we use the pancake recipe in there all the time and love it).

First whisk/sift the dry ingredients:

1 tsp yeast (I used the rapid rise stuff – no need to activate in water first)
1 tsp salt
2tbps sugar
2 cups flour

Then mix the wet ingredients together:

1.5 cups milk
1.5 sticks butter melted & cooled
1 tsp vanilla extract

Then whisk the liquid into the dry.  Cover with clingfilm and let sit out at room temperature overnight.

The next morning, separate 3 eggs. Preheat waffle iron. Beat the egg whites till they are stiff (I only used 2- still yummy!). Whisk in the egg yolks then fold in the egg whites.   Then pour 1/2 cup per compartment and close lid. Wait for yumminess to cook. Eat with maple syrup!

Went to see a friend’s new house this morning (with said waffles),  followed by a knitty afternoon with the girls at Westfield, including Hattie from Bristol & Joy all the way down from Malvern!  We frustrated our waiter at Wahaca – we were all so busy chatting he was having a hard time keeping our attention long enough to get our orders. Ah well, when there is knitting and chatting to be done can you blame us?

I also have photos of finished yarn!  They are a little blurry as I took them with my iphone, but the colours are not too far off.

This is the grey and pink Sokkusu-X, which is going to grow up to be one of my colourways. I just don’t yet have a name for it…

The three on the right are all pink/grey, two with light grey and one with dark grey.  The left skein will also grow up to be a colourway – it purple and green and yellow, like an iris.

These are Dyepot Babies – they may become colourways, but I haven’t decided yet.  Probably the two reds since I liked them and I know how to remake them.

Purple Dyepot Babies.

Now for my first contest of 2011: Name that Skein!  The pink/light grey, pink/dark grey and iris coloured colourways all need names.  Put your suggestions in the comments. If I use one of your suggestions as the name of one of those three colourways,  I’ll send you a skein of Sokkusu-X in the colourway you named.  Happy naming!

23 thoughts on “Waffle-icious & Name that Skein Contest

  1. I’m telling ya, it has to be Louis. At least that is what MY skein is going to be called. Pfttt.

    Will have a think and come back if I come up with anything better though I can’t see how I could top Louis.

  2. oooh what fun!

    I hereby pronounce these skeins:

    pink/light grey – Cockatoo
    pink/dark grey – Dragonfruit
    purple/yellow – Pansy or Viola

  3. Hmm, this competition intrigues me – how about Pink Granite for the pink and dark grey?

    Or Belamcanda for the irisy one? It’s a genus of iris often called blackberry lily, which has deeppurpley berries like the top of your skein and then goes yellowy.

  4. Mmmm… I’ve been totally craving something sweet and starchy for the last 2 hours. Now I’m salivating. No joke.

    I’m going to try to make your yeasty waffles this weekend. What?!?? Too much butter, you say? Pshaw! Just a thought, though: Maybe don’t reduce the amount of butter just yet if you’re going to increase the sugar content. I wonder if the butter and sugar work together to make the nice crispy caramelly texture? John recently changed his pancake recipe and has upped the butter and sugar content. They make for wondeful crispy pancakes – the only kind I’ll eat.

    Another thing I like to do with baking is to add a splash more vanilla than the recipe calls for. Like 2 tsp instead of 1. And I like to eat my waffles with vanilla ice cream. For breakfast.

    Okay, that’s my 200 cents for today.

  5. Wow, those waffles sound amazing and would e great with Maple Syrup and Bacon. Yummy

    pink/light grey – It looks a bit like the sky on a cold misty morning when you don’t get all the reds and yellows so how about “Winter Sunrise”
    pink/dark grey and iris – with the yellow in there it looks a bit like a healing bruise and also a bit like a pansy so how about “Bruised Pansy”

    Pretty Please – can either of the left two purples be club socks this year and the Grey and Pink, but they’re all gorgeous

    • @Jen,
      OK, I’ll need to change the pink/grey name for my choice to either Winter Sunset or January sunset as I just looked out the window and the sky is that colour this evening

  6. Ooh – I love the yarn naming! I’m thinking London landmarks/places of interest –
    Pink/grey – Chelsea Wharf
    Purple/yellow – Kew Gardens

    I quite like Leicester Square for one the semi-solid purple ones!
    Btw – I love the pink/grey skein

  7. Ooh, I love contests!

    How about Illyrica or Illyrian Iris (a type of iris) for the purple one and Feldspar for the pink and light grey? And Pink Dolphin (an actual variety of dolphin!) for the pink and dark grey.

    (it’s harder than it appears, this naming malarkey! Have I ever mentioned how much I ❤ Wikipedia?!)

  8. Wow what gorgeous colours! The pink/pale grey reminds me of the view of the city from the hungerford footbridge in the early evening so I’d suggest Thames at Twilight.

    The purple/gold is the colours of the iris beds at one of my favourite national trust houses so it’s Collerton Fishacre.

    The purple/dark grey is the weather outside at the moment so if JWM Turner will forgive it I’d call it Rain, Wind and Wool.

    It’s been great fun thinking up names – have fun choosing!

  9. Ooooh what fun. Colours are lovely. Name ideas:

    Pink/light grey – I think Harmony. The colours blend really naturally like a good vocal harmony.
    Pink/dark grey – Perhaps Symphony or Sonata for similar musical reasons.
    Purple/yellow – what about Ayame (the iris is know as Ayame in Japan and I think it sounds nice) or simply Rainbow. In Greek mythology, Iris (Ἶρις) is the personification of the rainbow and messenger of the gods (according to Wikipedia!)

  10. Yum – you’ve just given me a craving for blueberry pancakes! Breakfast – sorted! Thank you!
    pink/light grey – winter solstice ( reminds me of the sky that morning)
    pink/dark grey – bunnykins (the grey softness of the fur and a twitchy pink nose!)
    purple/yellow – renaissance (the birth of a new spring)

    Off for brekky! xx

  11. My suggestions:

    Dark grey/pink – Steel Magnolia
    lighter grey/pink – Faded Magnolia (there’s a theme going here..), or Wintersong Rose
    The purple mix – Irreparably Iris, or to me it is quite pansy coloured so how about Perfectly Pansified.

    Lots of fun, this naming lark

    kb

  12. oooh I definitely going to give the yeasty waffles a go! You are such an inspiration Alice..

    I would name the Pink/Light Grey skein Rose Quartz ,
    the Pink/Dark Grey skein Pidgeon Street,
    and the Iris one I’d call Alpine, after all the pretty bright alpine flowers that bloom in my garden!

  13. The waffles look YUM! Have you ever tried waffles with malt powder? I’ve had them at b&b’s and they’re quite the big thing in this region. I might look to try diasctic malt powder, which gives a distinct flavor. Available from King Arthur Flour.

    Also available is a famous product: Carbon’s Malt Waffles powder. Maybe availablle from Williams-Sonoma. Yum.

  14. It feels strange commenting but I’ve been following your blog for mentions of Knit Nation, and this post got me thinking about the colours.

    Thought I’d chip in with a name as the dark grey/pink skein twanged a memory deep in my brain somewhere when I saw it…bullfinch. The colours are lovely.

    And why not call the iris one what you called it in the blog post – ‘like an iris’, got a certain ring to it!

  15. Pingback: Lucky Sunday Winners

Leave a Reply

