Not Toothless

When the sun broke through the clouds yesterday, we moseyed on down to Sloane Square to check out the farmers market.  I love farmers markets – I love the tastiness and the wonderful smells.

There were stands full of delicious cakes (hubby had one of the chocolate tarts in the above photo).

And lots of traditional pies – there were a couple piemakers there – Pieminster and this chap with his nicely stacked pies.  Though, whenever I see pies I can’t help but think of Sweeney Todd, the demon barber of Fleet Street and Mrs Lovett’s ‘special’ meat pies. Blech.

I love the cheese selection – this stall had loads of truffle cheeses, manchego, epoisse, huge wheels of brie and camembert.   There was also a shroom stand – the legal, woodland variety.  Chanterelle, trumpets, girolles. We bought a bag full of girolles and had them for dinner in a garlicky, parsley and white wine sauce on top of pasta.

We briefly considered bringing home some truffles…. but at £120 per 100g for the white, and £160 per 100g for the black, we decided we were more than happy with our bag of girolles!

We had lunch at the market (I had a chicken pastilla from the Moroccan stand – I used to get these from the same people but in Richmond. Delicious.), and poor Deuce watched us patiently, hoping for some tidbits.

Hubby had a steak sandwich, which he waved enticingly at Deuce. Poor little guy.  I know, we’re meanies.

We also stopped by Artisan du Chocolat, a British chocolatier. I got some of their salted caramel balls (you can get seconds at Borough Market… but that’s stuff and nonsense. Seriously – there is no such thing as ‘imperfect’ Artisan du Chocolat!). They did have something else that caught my eye. Buffalo Milk Chocolate.  It’s from British buffalos. I have to send this photo to Ron Miskin at Buffalo Gold. The drawing kind of looks like him.

I had a sample – it was interesting. Not gross or weird, just slightly more grassy/pungent than regular chocolate. I can’t honestly say I’m enamored; however, if offered a piece, I also would not turn it down.

Lucky Sunday #6

This morning with waffles DH used golden syrup as we are out of maple syrup. I steadfastly refuse to use golden syrup because I feel it is a travesty of nature (this is not based on any rational or logical reasoning. I just feel that anything that uses ‘inverted’ or ‘byproduct’ to describe itself is wrong.  The way hot dogs are wrong; but darn it, they taste sooo good). While casting aspersions on golden syrup (with hubby gobbling up golden syrup drenched waffles, accompanied by appreciative smacking noises ) the lion on the tin caught my eye.  There was something wrong about it.  Most lions are usually standing, or at least sitting and roaring or doing some such strong, virile liony gesture.

This lion, this lion is lying down – sleeping?  And what the heck are those weird dots?   Let’s look closer.

Flies? On a dirty lion? a sleeping dirty lion?  Very unlion like. And what’s that weird black gaping gash?

A quick look up on Wikipedia clarified things.  I guess Abram Lyle did not consult any marketing companies back in 1883 when he started to sell the stuff. They might have told  him that perhaps a lion carcass with a swarm of bees eating the rotting meat and making their honeycomb inside the carcass may not be the best image to encourage people to partake in his coughsowrongandunnaturalcough inverted sugar syrup.  That a dead animal, ahem, a rotting, dead animal being slowly devoured by insects, may actually put people off their food.   The slogan “Out of the strong came forth sweetness” is a reference to the story of Samson who kills a lion leaving the carcass to rot and later finds the lion in the form Mr Lyle has captured for posterity.  Groooody to the max.  Ick.  Hand me that maple syrup.  I will take leaves (albeit dying, but they are such a pretty shade of red when they go) and log cabins over dead rotting animals any day.

And now to the point of my Lucky Sunday meanderings…  I am soooo lucky that the First Nations discovered maple syrup and shared the knowledge. My waffles thank them. I’m sure the maple syrup industry thanks them too, as does Amy Sherman who got to put in a maple syrup tasting convention in Season 6 Episode 12 of Gilmore Girls.  I don’t think a golden syrup tasting convention would be as funny.   And the factories that make tins in the shape of log cabins would have gone out of business decades ago if they didn’t have maple syrup to put inside the tins. Seriously what else can you put inside of log cabin tins? Peanut butter? Honey? It just doesn’t work, does it.   I am also feeling pretty lucky that all my teeth haven’t fallen out, given how much of the stuff I consume. Lucky to have maple syrup, and very very lucky indeed not to be toothless.

11 thoughts on “Not Toothless

  1. I hadn’t noticed what the lion was doing on the golden syrup tin until now – have just been for a closer look on my tin! You can’t beat using golden syrup for a steamed syrup sponge pudding though – wouldn’t be the same with maple syrup!

  2. I love both Maple and Golden Syrup.

    I’ve never paid any attention to what’s on the tin. And you can’t put maple syrup on crumpets! It would just run out.

  3. Can I admit to loving both equally. Maple syrup goes with porridge and bananas and bacon and waffles but nothing makes a good flapjack like golden syrup

  4. I sort of grew up on golden syrup – on bread, crumpets and porrige! Also for making flapjacks, I’m still partialed to GS on toast but otherwise it is a bit sweet. Now I prefer maple syrup – with pancakes and salty bacon (and of course pecan pie).

    I first read about how maple syrup is gathered when readig the Little House on the Prarie books to my daughters. A very heartwarming story of community spirit, rather like a cullinary barn raising!

  5. Pingback: Spring Buds & Xiao Long Bao

Leave a Reply

