Spriteling SMSKAL Swatch Up

It’s time to swatch up for the Spriteling Socktopus Mystery Shawl Knit-along. Needles, check! Yarn, check! Ready, set, KNIT!

In case you are wondering, the swatch is knit in Sokkusu-Original (in a yet unnamed colourway – I am having trouble giving this one a name. I think I am blinded by my love for this colourway!). I’ll have some available in the shop next week.

I hemmed and hawed over lace weight vs fingering weight, and finally opted for fingering weight since it has a more restrictive yardage (it’s easy to substitute lace weight for fingering, but not always so easy to do the opposite). If you substitute lace weight just be sure to adjust the size of your needles so you get a pleasant fabric.

Yarn

400 metres fingering weight yarn.

Gauge

24 sts and 36 rows = 4 inches in stockinette (unstretched, unblocked)

Needles

Size 7 US (4.5 mm) circular needle, or size needed to obtain gauge

Notions

A crochet hook and waste yarn for provisional cast on, stitch markers and a tapestery needle

You can download the swatch info for free from Ravelry by clicking here.

The first clue will be released on the 1 April. You can purchase the pattern either in the side bar or by clicking here:

Happy swatching!

6 thoughts on “Spriteling SMSKAL Swatch Up

  1. I love this colourway – it reminds me of spring colours, only muted. Something like Frozen Spring? I’d love to have some, but I don’t see anywhere to look at other colourways or buy any of your yarns. Am I missing something (highly likely as I’m a new reader to your blog)?

Leave a Reply

