Knit Nation Goes Live

Knit Nation sign ups go live today at 8pm BST. Go to www.knitnation.co.uk for the registration link.

Thanks to the happy chance of having Easter, then a Bank Holiday Monday, and the royal nuptials we’ve had two 4 day weekends in a row.

Along with something like 30 million others, we celebrated by watching the event on TV (hours and hours of it!), eating cupcakes with the royal couple’s face on them:

and drinking lots and lots of margarita.  A great girls’ afternoon out

The Nuptials Margarita (my pseudo invention-only pseudo since the only thing I did different to the recipe was add strawberries!) was my new favourite drink…

until about 9pm on Friday and I was feeling rather the worse for wear when it became my least favourite drink…

But still, all in all it was quite yummy and super easy to make. Totally recommend it for a lazy afternoon in the garden soaking up the rays.

It’s based on the 42 21 Margarita and the 4221 refers to the proportion of the ingredients used:

4 measures tequilla (I recommend Sauza Tequila Silver, much smoother than the jose cuervo clear tequila which was a little rough)
2 measures triple sec
2 measures freshly squeezed lime juice
1 measure of agave nectar/sugar syrup
a few sliced strawberries (this is the only bit I added!)

Put everything above into a cocktail shaker with some ice, do the hokey pokey and and shake it all about. The strawberries give it a pretty pink, and a nice aroma.

I used a wedge of lime to wet the rims of my glasses, then dipped them on a plate of vanilla flavoured salt flakes (I took a vanilla bean, scraped out the insides and mixed it up with the salt). Add some ice, a few sliced of strawberries if you want to be fancy, pour in the margarita and serve.

Over the long weekends, we’ve also been doing what seems to be the national pastime here in Britain. A little bit of gardening! I’m quite looking forward to seeing our balcony garden bloom.

We went to a small town called Crew’s Hill which seems to be the spiritual home of the garden centre.  A whole street of garden centres! We got three peony plants; I’m super excited to see them bloom since peonies are my absolute favourite flower.

We got a couple strawberry plants… hopefully we’ll get a crop of strawberries later this summer.

We also put up a trellis for some jasmine, honeysuckle, ivy and sweet pea (which are just germinating now)

Our peach tree has a few new fruit – one rather large peach…

and some rather teeny ones which hopefully will grow a bit more since I pruned the tree to within an inch of its life!

We’ve got about a dozen little apples growing on another severely pruned and repotted apple tree – I’m hoping we’ll get a nice crop of apples this year. Last year we actually ate one and it was surprisingly tasty!

Strawberries, apples, peaches… i see Pimms in my future!

 

5 thoughts on “Knit Nation Goes Live

  1. Trellis are looking nice in your balcony garden, all plants also looking quite good, my hands are just so itchy and can’t wait to work in my garden as well .
    I’ve got up at 3:00am to watched the “Royal Wedding “, can’t believe I did that, but I must said , I did enjoy it.

  2. Lovely garden! I too, was up early (4AM) to watch the wedding. It was really lovely. I can’t wait until I am there in person!

  3. I salute Alice’s margherita. A marvel!!!! Recommended to any and all, though perhaps in smaller quantities than we consumed them…

  4. Please pictures of your plants as they flower. The one peony head shown is going to be a gang buster.

Leave a Reply

