Strawberry Sundae

Thank you everyone who donated to HKDR over the last 2 weeks! You raised HK$2860 – about £225! Woot!! We’re almost halfway to goal in just two weeks. This week’s draw was won by Rebecca-Anne. I’ve emailed you for your address but if you haven’t received my email please get in touch.

Despite the torture on Sunday, we had a lovely weekend. We were able to greet a long lost friend and pull out our beloved waffle maker.

We had an indulgent breakfast on Sunday, topping our waffles with whipped cream, a sprinkle of icing sugar, sliced bananas and maple syrup….mmmmm.

Even Deuce was able to indulge himself by sneakily scoffing Strawberry’s left over food.  I think he may, just may, look a little shamefaced here.  Or maybe that’s his ‘I’m hungry feed me’ face. It’s hard to tell sometimes.

But the best part of the weekend was DH agreeing that we should officially make little Strawberry a part of our family!  Today I spoke with the Foster Coordinator at HKDR and we’ve made all the arrangements. The paperwork has been signed, and we’ll be sending over the adoption fee tonight. I think the little one has done her work in absolutely charming DH. She adores him and her little tail frantically wags whenever she sees him. I’m absolutely thrilled – as you can tell I’m completely in love with her and I think Deuce is on his way too.

I’ve also got a little confession to make – I’ve been calling her by a different name, which will become her official name now: Mei Mei. The Mei is from the Chinese word for Strawberry (草莓 – cao mei) and is also a homonym for ‘little sister’. Right now my two little black monkeys are snoozing away in the corner of the kitchen; my heart just melts. 🙂 I love that Mei Mei has an international peanut gallery cheering her on. She is doing so much better, getting stronger every day and I’m sure that part of this has to do with all the well wishes she is getting.

A short video to close, from this morning with DH and his feet – you can see how much she adores him!

10 thoughts on “Strawberry Sundae

  1. YAY! Congratulations on your new addition. Duecey is a great big brother. Welcome Mei Mei, can’t wait until I see her in person!

  2. Hmmm Waffles yummmmmmm !

    Love the Video of Mei mei, sounds even cuter, I loved it when DH had tied his shoe lace gave Mei mei a quick tickle and her little started wagging like mad, just adorable. Gorgeous pic of Deuce as well, he’s just like the character Oliver saying he wants more !!!

Leave a Reply

