DH’s Xmas Jumper: FO

You remember my last minute whim decision to knit hubby a jumper, and how Kim at the Woolen Rabbit totally pulled through for me and sent me the yarn at record speed? I knit away like a demon possessed, but despite my rather optimistic/delusional belief that I’d finish in time for Christmas dinner, by dinner time on Christmas day no matter how I looked at the sweater, I had to admit that DH could not wear it out as it was. That sucker was not finished. Close, but no cigar. I still had the neck to finish and the collar to knit, not to mention all the blasted ends to weave in (at this point I was on my seventh skein).

So I continued to knit and knit and knit…. and finally, finally! on Boxing Day victory was mine.

So, in pictures, the story of a Woolen Rabbit WW Kashmir yarn (80% Merino, 10% Cashmere, 10% Nylon) that was dyed lovingly in New Hampshire and sent post haste halfway across the earth to Hong Kong, and which with the clickety clack of needles, some entertainment in the form of a very dialogue light cowboy movie (hubby’s choice: Once Upon a Time in the West), Harry Potter’s Order of the Pheonix, and a couple audiobooks, grew up to be a cozy jumper for my hubby.

8 skeins of WW Kashmir in Enchanted Forest arrived 18 December

20th December

22nd December

Christmas Eve

Christmas, end of day

And the finish line on Boxing Day, the FO (finished object)!

Back of sweater

Front of sweater, lattice detail

And hubby himself modelling the finished, blocked product with all ends woven in! Fits him perfectly and is nice and cozy and warm.  Perfect for the coming colder days.

DH’s Xmas Jumper (Rav project link)

Pattern: Carol Feller’s Lattice Sweater (aka Terry’s Pullover -Rav pattern link), 44 3/4″ size

Yarn: WW Kashmir from the Woolen Rabbit, 175 yards (160 metres) per 115g skein

Gauge: 19 sts and 28 rows per 4″ in st st.

The called for gauge was 19st and 25 rows.  I got the stitches per inch gauge which is the  most important one.  I used 7 skeins plus 10 grams of the 8th skein to finish – approximately 1240 yards/1134 metres.  The pattern calls for 1232 yards/1120 metres so despite my rows per inch gauge requiring slightly more yarn than the pattern calls for, the estimated yardage from the pattern was spot on.

Mods:

-Knit arms in the round rather than flat.
-Added a crochet reinforcement to back neck as I worried there would be stretch there since the collar is knit in one piece up from the raglan decreases of the chest/neck.
-Used shadow wraps for short rows on the collar instead of the w&t method.
-Used EZ sewn bind off on collar to match long tail cast-on for cuffs & hem.

Otherwise knit to pattern as specified. Nicely written, easy to follow, simple and pleasurable knit.

14 thoughts on “DH’s Xmas Jumper: FO

  1. Astounding! I just can’t believe you knit that in six days! Great pattern, just enough ornamentation not to be too much for a guy. The yarn is lovely too, and the perfect colour for D. I did wonder if you were going to able to persuade him into a modelled shot 🙂

    • @Eirwen, Not too much – I try to always stretch my hands and arms afterwards. Am going to take a few days break though from knitting! Maybe make some salted caramels as a reward…. 😉

  2. Wow. Very nice. And the collar is very ‘David’. Impressed by your talent Alice. I thought, very wrongly, you only knitted socks!!!

Leave a Reply

