The Waiting Game

Hubby got home last night, with a suitcase full of goodies! Was so happy to see him. Haha and happy little Blueberry decided to stay in the oven for now and keep on cookin’ for a while. Though I have to say her movements are so insistent that watching my belly roil and move like I’ve got shifting teutonic plates in there is really freakish. I’ll have to get a video for posterity and to show Blueberry when she’s older. See, see what mama had to put up with my squirmy one?

Hubby brought home my long awaited Cookie A Sock Club final parcel from 2011 – Bugga! in a lovely mix of greens and pink, and my requested Cinnamon Rococo Chocolate bars. Well, one got scoffed immediately so now I have one left. Mmmm love Rococo!

And some silly things that pleased me to no end – our bright orange kitchen scissors. Our big red pepper mill. And my handknit socks! I couldn’t for the life of me remember where the heck all my handknit socks were, my cashmere anemois, some shawls I’d knit, nor the sock samples from the 2011 KLC sock club, so when hubby said he found them in our flat I was over the moon.

Thank you to everyone for your suggestions on itchy skin help! I really think it is getting better – last few nights I’ve been able to sleep through with only one bathroom trip. Woot! I do have a veritable pharmacy in my bathroom of lotions and potions – hubby also brought back some Mama Mio which I truly love. The Lush Dream Cream also helped stop the itching temporarily. I’m still itchy but it no longer makes me feel like i’m about to drop into the abyss of insanity.

Since I’ve been spending so much time at the dining table aka my work desk, my little furballs have taken to commandeering the next available lap – my mom’s. Whenever she’s on the sofa, the two monkeys cozy up to her. It’s quite cute and good practice for them when the Blueberry comes home.

Speaking of which, I thought I’d share a photo of Blueberry’s current abode. It’s pretty big, but I think very soon it’s going to be too cramped for her and she’ll need to upgrade to the big wide world! A week to her due date…. now it’s the waiting game. My mom is convinced I’ll go into labour sometime before the 15th of the Lunar Calendar (around the 6th of Feb) because it is the Lantern Festival and supposed to make childbirth go easier and faster. I certainly hope that is the case!

21 thoughts on “The Waiting Game

  1. Try olive oil for the itchiness. It’s a fantastic moisturizer & will quickly absorb into your skin. You can even use a little in/on your hair if you have frizz problems. You’ll smell a little weird for 5 or 10 minutes, but once the oil is absorbed, the smell goes away. I use it all the time – it’s fantastic stuff!

  2. Mom’s are always right :-). BTW thank you so very, very much! I am sending you a real letter. Love to all xxx

  3. Awww I’m so excited for you! I love the lantern festival… I hope your Mom is right : )
    Love Deuce the hobbit… Too cute!
    Thinking of you…
    Hugs!

    • @Eg, It’s one of the main ingredients in a ton of my lotions. I think I just have to brace it out for the next little while, and hopefully after birth the itchy factor will go!

  4. I’m almost finished with my Rambutan socks. I wasn’t fond of the color at first but now I love them!
    Happy last days of pregnancy πŸ™‚

  5. Hey Alice,
    Hang in there. You look fab and you should take an alien belly video. I regret not taking one for all our kids.

    Good luck. I’m sure you’ll birth that baby like nobodies business. Say hi to David for me.

  6. Tee hee, I think you mean tectonic plates, versus teutonic (of or relating to Germans)! I popped over from Knitspot, ’cause I saw you were due any day. My official due date is tomorrow! I had that horrible itchy thing with my first pregnancy, and the only thing that helped was oatmeal baths, blech. Glad to know you’ve found some solutions that are a bit less messy. Best wishes!

Leave a Reply

